NEBOSH Meaning: What Does NEBOSH Stand For?

NEBOSH Meaning

NEBOSH Stands for: National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health.

NEBOSH is a certificate awarding body; the most recognized in the UK. NEBOSH does not deliver health and safety training courses; instead, it provides syllabuses, exams, and assignments to Accredited Course Providers which they choose meticulously.

More so, the NEBOSH qualification is mostly required for employment and as a membership criterion in most Health and Safety membership bodies. These and many more have made NEBOSH very popular across the globe.


NEBOSH is a leading global brand in health, safety, and environmental qualifications. Their internationally recognized qualifications help to raise the competence of safety and environmental professionals as well as individuals at all levels in the workplace.

Since their inception in 1979, more than half a million people from around the world have studied for a NEBOSH qualification. Tens of thousands join their number every year studying with a network of 600 course providers in over 132 countries.

NEBOSH qualifications are highly respected by governments, employers, and students. They build the knowledge and skills that underpin competent performance as a health, safety, and environmental professional.

NEBOSH has been a UK-recognised awarding body since 2000 and received Approved Awarding Body Status from the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) Accreditation in 2009.

A major highlight for NEBOSH in 2014 was receiving a Queen’s Award for international trade success. The Award recognizes our international growth in the three years to the end of March 2013, specifically that our overseas registrations more than tripled in that time. NEBOSH was one of only 110 companies across the UK that the award has been conferred upon in 2014.

NEBOSH is an ISO 9001:2015 registered organization independently audited by the British Standards Institution (BSI). The standard is based on a number of quality management principles designed to support the delivery of consistent high-quality products and services to customers. ISO 9001 is implemented by over 1 million organizations in 170 countries.

NEBOSH Courses

NEBOSH as a certificate awarding body has:

  • Three (3) awards qualification
  • Eleven (11) certificate qualification
  • Four (4) diploma qualification
  • Two (2) masters qualification

You can enroll in any of these courses to develop yourself professionally in the Health and Safety field.

Read Also: List of all NEBOSH courses 

NEBOSH Course Providers

As mentioned earlier, NEBOSH does not deliver health and safety training courses; instead, it provides syllabuses, exams, and assignments to Accredited Course Providers which they choose meticulously.

NEBOSH has approved course providers in different countries. All their course providers pass through an accreditation process organized by NEBOSH before they are accepted to be NEBOSH course providers.

You can check for a NEBOSH course provider in your country for any NEBOSH course of choice.

Search for a course provider for any NEBOSH course using the link below:

NEBOSH course providers; Click the link and choose a course to start the search.

Applying To Become A NEBOSH Course Provider

You can apply to become a NEBOSH course provider. See how via the link below:

Read AlsoHow to become a NEBOSH course provider

Related posts

NCRQ vs NVQ vs NEBOSH: Which One is Best?

7 Reasons Why You Need A NEBOSH Certificate

How Much is the NEBOSH International Diploma?

20 Important NEBOSH Command Words You Should Understand

List Of All NEBOSH Courses

What Is The Important Difference Between OSHA And NEBOSH